Why Not Me?

image

I was talking with a friend today and I asked why her blog was gone. She told me the blog closed down because she had done what she wanted with it and some changes in her life made her think it was time to close that outlet. She also told me that another blogger slut shamed her because she posts semi-nude selfies along with her poetry and other posts. We talked about the specifics and her reaction. I told her I wished I was courageous and confident enough to post pictures of myself in my blog.

“Why don’t you?” she asked.

I didn’t have a great answer. I half joked about no one wanting to see that on my blog, but the reality is that I that is exactly what I worry about. Well, it is part of what I worry about.

This post may ramble a bit, but I’m going to try and lay out why I feel the way I do about posting pics of myself, about what I think of slut shaming, and nudity in general. The answers will meander through the length of the post, and I hope you stay along for the ride.

So where to begin? The pictures? Yeah, that seems reasonable. Okay, I do not mind having my picture taken and I don’t mind sharing the occasional dick pic with a friend that asks for it. There was a time I used to play on Webcam even and it barely mattered whether or not the viewer, or viewers, were male or female. I’m not afraid to flash some dick. Hell, I love an audience, but I usually stop short of taking a full body pic of myself in the nude. While I am okay with the size of my dick, the rest of me leaves me wanting. I am a little round in the middle and not very tone anywhere esle. Age, diet, and lifestyle have done a number on me.
image

The last time I took a full body nude was in order to get the opinion of a friend. Her response was not bad. Shape wise she thought I was fine, but the farmer’s tan was a travesty worthy of much spray on tanning. I should have felt good with what I got, but I guess what I wanted, what I suspect we all want to some degeee, was for her to take a look and say, “Damn. You look so good. I wish I could fuck you right now.” Or maybe that’s just me.

I am not a bad looking guy. Even as a teenager I was not bad looking, but I was never the guy thst women looked at and luster after. My strong point gas always been my personality, and I am glad about that, but I have always wanted to be lusted after and I’ve always thought my body is what holds me back.

So why don’t I share my pics? Fear. Blind, stupid, fear.
image

Fear of mockery and rejection is normal I suppose. I don’t understand why people feel the need to do that. Neither do I understand slut shaming or calling people out for sharing naked pictures. You don’t like the pictures? Stop going to the site. Why tear someone down? That person was brave enough to quite literally expose themselves, and you feel the need to belittle them? Does this person want to illicit a reaction? Yes, but who doesn’t.
image

Nudity is beautiful. The human body is amazing. Have you ever checked out ESPN Magazine’s The Body issue? Incredible photographs of elite athletes laid out in black and white garner the pages and I am amazed by the images every time.
image

The pictures people take of themselves and post online are no less beautiful. They are unique and special in their own right and should be celebrated, not denegrated.

Not every body is attractive. Not every picture is well taken. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, so some pictures of naked people or body parts may turn you off. Fine. Go somewhere else and keep your negativity to yourself.

Will I ever post pictures of my body in part or in whole on this blog? I don’t know. I still feel a bit insecure with the idea, but I am working on that, and that will have to do.
image

3 thoughts on “Why Not Me?

  1. i don’t think the people who don’t post pictures of themselves, yet who judge those who do have any understanding of the amount of courage it takes to expose oneself. and that by building up the courage and following through a great amount of confidence is born. it can repair bad self esteem over time. so when someone makes nasty comments it can also tear a person down and affirm for them all the bad and negative things they already think about themselves. it’s very, very sad when people do that. all people are beautiful, sexy and desirable in their own ways and what is attractive to one person visually may be a turn off to another and vise verse. it would be nice if everyone could just be gracious and supportive and if they can’t then they should shut the fuck up.

    i applaud you for showing us a peak of you. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree completely. I really believe in that old maxim of, “If you can’t say something nice, say nothing at all.” Criticism is fine, but be sensitive and tactful, not beligrent and hurtful.

      Thank you for the comments and appreciation.

      Like

Leave a Reply

